How to Drive with Cannabis in the Car
Driving with cannabis in the car is a funny thing in terms of the law. A bag in the front seat could get you a fine or worse, even in an adult-use state. It’s important to know current laws in each state to avoid police you never saw coming. I’ll go over the basics on driving with cannabis in 10 recreational cannabis states plus the District of Columbia:
Alaska Cannabis Transportation Laws
Keep the cannabis in the trunk if you’re driving in Alaska, the city assembly extended its open container laws to cannabis in 2016.
California Cannabis Transportation Laws
California Vehicle Code 23222(b) is California’s “open container” law, which makes it unlawful to drive with any cannabis not in a container, or in an opened container. .
Colorado Cannabis Transportation Laws
Colorado law specifies drivers with five nanograms of active THC in their blood can be prosecuted for driving under the influence, though law enforcement officers are more likely to base arrests on observed impairment.
Maine Cannabis Transportation Laws
Under Maine law, individuals 21 years of age or older can transport up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of cannabis so long as the cannabis is kept sealed in a childproof container
Massachusetts Cannabis Transportation Laws
an open container of cannabis carries a civil fine of $500. All cannabis must be kept in a sealed container during transport.
Michigan Cannabis Transportation Laws
Michigan legalized recreational cannabis in November 2018. The new law makes transporting recreational cannabis legal if the product is in a “sealed” and “labeled” package in the trunk of the vehicle.
Nevada Cannabis Transportation Laws
Cannabis in the car should be in a sealed container away from the driver and any minor passengers. Failure results in an open container fine
Oregon Cannabis Transportation Laws
Per Oregon law (ORS 475B.245), a person the age of 21 or older may transport up to one ounce of cannabis in a public place
Vermont Cannabis Transportation Laws
Under Act 86 passed in 2018, a person operating a vehicle on a public highway may not possess any cannabis in the passenger area of the vehicle, defined as any area readily accessible to the operator or passengers while in their seating positions, including the glove compartment. Violators are fined $500
Washington Cannabis Transportation Laws
Cannabis must be stored in the trunk of the vehicle, in some other area of the vehicle not normally occupied or directly accessible by the driver or passengers if the vehicle does not have a trunk, or in a package, container, or receptacle that has not been opened or the seal broken or contents partially removed.
Washington, DC Cannabis Transportation Laws
You can possess or transport cannabis weighing less than two ounces but, federal officers can arrest you under federal law at any time for any amount of cannabis.
Arizona Just Made Cannabis Safer and Cheaper
Arizona’s medical cannabis program is going cheaper and cleaner, Thanks to the new SB 1494 passed by the Legislature and signed by Gov. Doug Ducey. The bill passed the House on a 60-0 vote. A combination of dispensaries, labs, patients, and health officials made SB 1494 succeed. Under the new rules, medical cannabis cards will be valid for two years. That saves patients $150 application fee every other year. Patients will also save on doctor visit fees. Also, mandatory potency and purity testing will kick in on Nov. 1, 2020. All medical cannabis products on dispensary shelves must be tested for potency and common like mold, mildew, fungus, heavy metals like lead, pesticides, and residual solvents like butane. Patients and caregivers can request test scores at the cash register. The new law requires dispensaries to provide the data “immediately on request.” Currently, Arizona is the only state without cannabis testing
California inmates can now possess marijuana in their prison cells The 3rd District Court of Appeal’s 20-page ruling says the state’s voters legalized recreational possession of less than ounce of cannabis in 2016, with no exception, even those behind bars. This ruling is because Sacramento County convicted 5 inmates who were caught with marijuana in their prison cells. From a three-judge panel, they wrote “possession of less than an ounce of cannabis in prison is no longer a felony, however, smoking or ingesting cannabis in prison remains a felony.” The state argued that guards will lose control over prisons if inmates are free to possess small amount of marijuana. This ruling made it way up to state Attorney General Xavier Becerra’s office, office already said they will review the ruling. But didn’t say he will appeal it.